By Russell Mokhiber of Single Payer Action. Above image from

Three more members of the House of Representatives have signed on as co-sponsors of HR 676, the single payer bill in the House.

Carolyn Maloney (New York), Adriano Espaillat (New York) and Nanette Barragan (California) — signed onto HR 676 yesterday, bringing the total number of co-sponsors to 72.

That leaves 22 members of the House Progressive Caucus yet to co-sponsor HR 676 — a bill that has been endorsed by the caucus as a whole.

Those 22 members are Ruben Gallego (Arizona), Maxine Waters (California), Jared Polis (Colorado), Rosa DeLauro (Connecticut), Lisa Blunt Rochester (Delaware), Val Demings (Florida), Lois Frankel (Florida), Frederica Wilson (Florida), Andre Carson (Indiana), Dave Loebsack (Iowa), Anthony Brown (Maryland), Joseph Kennedy (Massachusetts), Debbie Dingell (Michigan), Ruben Kihuen (Nevada), Carol Shea Porter (New Hampshire), Frank Pallone (New Jersey), Nydia Velazquez (New York), Peter DeFazio (Oregon), David Cicilline (Rhode Island), Eddie Bernice Johnson (Texas) Lloyd Doggett (Texas) and Don Beyer (Virginia).

The only Senate member of the Congressional Progressive Caucus — Senator Bernie Sanders — has yet to introduce his single payer bill in the Senate. Sanders’ office is being bombarded with calls from single payer activists across the country urging him to introduce a companion Senate bill to HR 676 — but he has yet to do so.


Recent News

Single Payer Resources

Join H.O.P.E.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *